Election Commission

Frances Taylor
Lydia Green
Ernest Munn
Wilhelmina Jones
William Saul

Edna Stevens
Circuit Clerk
Email: estevens@copiahcountyms.gov

If you’ve ever voted in a county election then you’ve been serviced by the Election Commission. From training election poll workers to ordering “I VOTED” stickers, commissioners ensure elections run smoothly and accurately.

The Election Commission is selected by public vote for a four year term. There is no limitation on the number of consecutive terms and they are paid $84 per meeting. Commissioners must be qualified electors in Copiah County and a resident of Supervisor District in which they are a candidate. They operate under the authority of MS Code Annotated 23-15-211 (1972).


The Election Commission is responsible for running the County’s General and Special Elections and include the following duties:

  •  Preparing and printing ballots
  •  Hiring and training poll workers
  •  Securing all supplies and prepare voting machines for election
  •  Preparing poll books
  •  Compiling precinct results on election day
  •  Certifying election results
  •  Providing election data to the public
  •  Purging voter rolls in compliance with the National Voters Rights Act
  •  Attending Election Conventions and training workshops